My Top 5 Favorite Audiobooks (And a Bonus!)

I usually opt to read books with my eyeballs, but sometimes I like to listen to audiobooks in the car or while I’m doing mindless tasks at work. I’ve listened to a couple dozen of them now (and DNF a handful of others). It can be hard to find a good audiobook, because sometimes narrators are not so great or the content just doesn’t lend itself to being read out loud. Here are the best ones I’ve found so far.

Fiction

Okay, so all of these are children’s fantasy books. It’s my favorite genre, but it also just makes for a fun road trip. They’re simpler than adult books, and therefore easier to follow. Besides, considering how enduring Harry Potter is, I don’t think I’m the only adult who loves children’s fantasy books.

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett audiobook coverThe Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett – Even if you don’t think you’re a Terry Pratchett fan, you might like this one. It’s probably the best book he ever wrote. It’s funny and beautiful at the same time. I’ve listened to two of the five books in the Tiffany Aching series now, and they’re easily my favorite audiobooks ever.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – This is a relatively short one. Neil Gaiman narrates it himself, and he’s a wonderful narrator. I keep meaning to find more self-narrated Gaiman books.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman- I’ve only listened to part of this one; I was using the audio to bridge the gaps while I was reading the book series, if I recall correctly. It’s very well produced. Philip Pullman narrates it himself, and his voice is quite pleasant to listen to. The other characters are voiced by a cast of actors, and they all do a good job. The story is bizarre, but there’s something about it that really stuck with me. It’s definitely worth reading.

Nonfiction

These happen to be humorous, so I guess what I’m learning is that I prefer my audiobooks to either be fantastic or funny. I find that funny books are actually better in audio format than on the page, so even if you generally prefer to read books (or don’t like books), I recommend checking out a funny audiobook to brighten up your commute every once in a while.

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris audiobook coverMe Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris – I didn’t think I was that big of a David Sedaris fan. I read two of his books and then borrowed this audiobook from a friend with a pretty sizable amount of skepticism. His stories tend to be kind of… weird. But this book is just plain funny, especially if you’ve ever tried to learn to speak French.

Dad Is Fat by Jim Gaffigan – I didn’t think I was a huge Gaffigan fan, either, but this book made me laugh a lot. As a bonus, it also made me really grateful for my childfree, moderately-sized-city life.

Bonus!: Bossypants by Tina Fey – I’m adding this just to say that I read the book first and thought it was just okay, and then I listened to the audiobook and liked it much better. So if you’re going to read it, listen to it instead.

After writing this I noticed that all of these audiobooks but one (The Wee Free Men) are narrated by the author. So perhaps that’s something to look for in an audiobook.

What are your favorite audiobooks? When do you like to listen to them?

One thought on “My Top 5 Favorite Audiobooks (And a Bonus!)

  1. I agree with your sentiment on Bossypants and will add that if you’re reading an autobiography by a comedian, listen to it instead. Rule stays pretty true across the board for other books I’ve read / listened to.

    Rob Lowe’s books are really great on audio. He is a fantastic narrator and has some pretty touching stories to tell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

